Wrapping Up in Dublin

This morning it was a bit rainy again. There were only a few more things that we had wanted to see in Dublin, and since it is our last day here we decided to try to see as many of them as possible. Unfortunately, some museums are closed because it is Monday and it also turns out that it is a bank holiday today. The Natural History Museum was closed. The National Gallery was open. There is one amazing room that is full of Van Goghs and Monets and other similar artists. The rest of the museum had some other famous works by Caravaggio, Rubens, Rembrandt, etc. There is also an interesting room that contains some works by the poet Yeats’ father who was quite an impressive artist in his own right (although a painter not a poet).

The National Library was closed. We stopped in one of the many bookstores in the neighborhood east of Grafton Street. I picked up a copy of For Whom the Bell Tolls. I’m not sure exactly what inspired me to read some Hemingway. We grabbed some lunch at a great old three story pub on Dame Street.

Dad and I split up for a bit. This whole time in Dublin I have been somewhat disappointed with the variety of beer that has been available at the pubs. They have all had Guinness, maybe an Irish cider, and then a collection of beers from other countries. Often American beers such as Budweiser, Miller, and Coors are not only available but featured! This is surprising to me. Where are all the local brews? Do they not exist? This afternoon I finally found a local brewpub. I decided to try their porter to see how it compares to Guinness. It was a million times better. In fact, one of the best porters I have ever had. I’m not a big porter fan in general, but this one has inspired me to try more porters. Anyway, it was satisfying to find some quality beer in Ireland.

Comments are closed.